Friday, October 12, 2012

Blogging from A to Z April Challenge: To every Author out there. . This post is for you.

Another challenge from the A to Z blog. It's not too late! Blogging from A to Z April Challenge: To every Author out there. . This post is for you.
To every Author out there. . This post is for you.

Good morning wonderful A-to-Zers! It is so wonderful to be posting here again.

Today I am here to capture the attention of every published (or soon to be) author in the world! (Okay, honestly that would take a lot of work and I really don't have the room for all of you. But you get the point).

You see, last year I held this wonderful event on my blog. Let me tell you about it.

Last year I did The Twelve Books for Christmas. I interview 12 authors (per blog, there were three blogs signed up). And each author gave away a book or two or three or twelve. :) And we did this for the twelve days leading up to Christmas. It was a TON of fun and even though it was short notice last year, it got a LOT of attention.

So why am I telling you about this in September? Well here is why:

Last year I posted the "Are you an author" post on November 30th and it was incredibly difficult to get everything set up and even with my handy-dandy best friend, we still struggled getting everything ready on time.

SO, I am telling you this because I am hoping to get more than *36 authors signed up for The Twelve Days of Christmas. :) Want to know more? Interested in signing up? Want to read the rules? Everything can be found HERE on this form!

Darklore Volume 7 | TDG - Science, Magick, Myth and History




New Darklore Journal now available. Read about who's in it, and how to get it, at The Daily Grail site: Darklore Volume 7 | TDG - Science, Magick, Myth and History

Sunday, September 16, 2012

Kendall Carver, founder of International Cruise Victims on Binnall Audio

I'm only two minutes into this, and it is an incredible -- and disturbing -- interview. You must listen to this one. It's not paranormal in any way. This has to do with disappearances and crimes on cruise ships. lebinnall of america : audio

Monday, September 10, 2012

Draco the Dragon Man



Found this paperback at the local St. Vinnie's, which has a great book section. It's like walking into a bookstore all its own. I've been in bookstores smaller than the St. Vinnie book sections. Nicely organized and labeled sections and the prices are fantastic. 

I just couldn't resist this one; cover and title both were simply too good to pass by. The blurb on the back, well, that cinched it!

Damon Draycot had won world renown as a historian and archeologist. .. His latest nine-month expedition was potholing in Texas. There were many miles of underground passages to explore ... what happens to him underground wold not be wished on any other man. Thereafter his life was never to be the same; dogged by an unfathomable curse that led him to shun his fellow creatures, this innocent expedition brought a nightmare of horror and evil into the light of day.

I assume one of the Dragon Dracos, or maybe Damon Draycot himself, were responsible for the state of the poor woman on the cover. Then again, it could have nothing to do with the story and just be a lurid cover for its own sake.

Paperback, New English Library, 1974

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

YUFOLOGY: Chasing UFO's...

Tina Sena's post from July on Chasing UFOs. And the following quote of hers that is exactly right:YUFOLOGY:Chasing UFO's...
...searching/hunting/investigating UFO's isn't a job for a handful of "experts".

It's a job for every interested person on this planet.

Monday, August 27, 2012

WATCH: Three Spooky New Trailers For “American Horror Story” Season 2 / Queerty

Previews of some of what's to come for season 2 of American Horror. WATCH: Three Spooky New Trailers For “American Horror Story” Season 2 / Queerty

I loved the 1st season; it's very creative what the program is doing. Some of the same cast members, but an entirely different set-up. Cannot wait. And that albino nun-ghost well, what could be better?

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Binnall of America round up of columns

Lots of good stuff at Binnall of America.

Tina Sena's School Spirits from the Past, Marla Pena's My First Contactee, Richard Thomas' Reflections on Ancient Astronauts in Prometheus, my own You Will Be Eradicated,Bruce Piddy on The Paranormal Apoostate, Lesley Gunter's Is it Raining Men?, Tony Morrill's We Didn't Start the Fire, and Richelle Hawks: Musings on Desire, Technology and TV.

A lot there to enjoy! Also, Tim interviews Adam Gorightly. Download the free podcast.

Friday, August 24, 2012

Sunday, August 5, 2012

Divinorum Psychonauticus: A Guide to the Scariest Paranormal / Ghost-Hunting TV Shows

From Erich Kuersten at Divinorum Psychonauticus, reviews of several of our favorite (or favorite like to dislike) ghost hunting shows. I don't agree with all that's said here but that's not the point. (I do share his opinion of Amy Allen and The Dead Files and Chip Coffey Fun and interesting and well written. I do like, of course, the comments regarding debunkers. For example:
 I'm so bored of debunkers. It's like who cares? Do you really think people can't tell the difference between a gust of wind and a spirit? Most people know, and it's not your job to just presume no one is as smart as you are, that's not what a ghost hunter is. Frankly, whenever there's too much attention to debunking I smell a con.

Or, this:
If you deign to do the research and really check facts and testimonies and history, supernatural phenomena abound upon the Earth and you realize when some smug rationalist or science major calls it all a lot of bunk he's just showing the level of calcification in his worldview scope, his fear of the unknown and willingness to doubt the word of others when they conflict with his idea of how the world works: until something supernatural has happened to him he doesn't believe it, just like illegal drugs are evil unless he tries them, or is anti-gay marriage unless he has a lesbian daughter, or is anti-immigration unless he was raised by the maid.

But that's not at all what Erich's piece is about -- just slamming debunkers -- not at all. My glee while reading his comments comes from my own indulgent I-love-to-bash-skeptoids wont.

It's a really enjoyable overview of several of the paranormal shows out there, whether or not you share the same opinions of the some of the shows or their hosts.

Saturday, August 4, 2012

Ted Torbich

Stench of Truth's Ted Torbich has stories available on Amazon. check it out!<a target="_blank" href="http://www.amazon.com/mn/search/?_encoding=UTF8&search-alias=digital-text&tag=oruf-20&linkCode=ur2&camp=1789&creative=390957&field-author=Theodore%20Torbich">Ted Torbich</a><img src="https://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=oruf-20&l=ur2&o=1" width="1" height="1" border="0" alt="" style="border:none !important; margin:0px !important;" />

JayVay | The Official Online Home of Jeremy Vaeni

Just promoting Jeremy Vaeni's blog, which is full of interesting and eclectic posts, including one on Alzheimer's by Dr. Tyler A. Kokjohn.JayVay | The Official Online Home of Jeremy Vaeni

Chase Brandon of the CIA | Future Theater

Bill and Nancy Birnes (of TV's UFO Hunters as well as UFO Magazine) hosts will interview Chase Bradon on tonight's Future Theater podcast. Hmmm, I want to sigh and say "oy" but I love Bill and Nancy and so, we'll just have to find out! Chase Brandon of the CIA | Future Theater

Unraveling The Secrets: Raven De La Croix

Podcast Unraveling The Secrets with Tim Swartz and Michael Mott. This will be good!

Nancy Red Star

Press release arrived, passing it along:

http://www.nancyredstar.com/content.htm

Show airs live Monday August 6 th 1:00 pm cst
To listen click the
arrow on the link belowhttp://www.paranormalpalace.com

Nancy Red Star descends from Redman/Parker/Vann/Mathews Cherokee bloodlines on her mother's side . She is the author of the Star Ancestors Trilogy (Inner Traditions/Bear & Co., 2000-03-05, Wilhelm Heyne Verlag, Germany) and Life With a Cosmos Clearance (Light Technology Publishing,Inc., 2003) and UFOs- No threat, Official Eyewitness Testimony (Light Technology Publishing, Inc., 2005-2006). In 2005~ Red Star became the Executive Producer, writer and host of her upcoming Feature Documentary entitled, Star Ancestors which is slated for theatrical release and worldwide TV distribution in the winter of 2011.
Red Star directs Willow Spirit Productions, LLC which was created for the purpose of documenting and distributing the archives of the testimony of world Indigenous peoples and select members of the Industrial Military Complex. Red Star has created a library of Text/ Audio/ Video support documentation for educational Seminars, Lectures and Workshops around the globe. She has been written about in numerous magazines including: Nexus, UFO Magazine, FATE, New York Magazine, ELLE, Shamans Drum, Majical Blend and more.
Red Star is a headliner at speaking engagements that have included the International UFO Congress, Conspiracy Con Conference, Santa Clara, CA, World Universal Expo, the Roswell Museum, Orange County MUFON, The Aztec UFO Symposium, Omega Institute, and she has appeared on Coast to Coast, Whitley Strieber, South African Radio, KRZA Hawaii, CONTACT Talk Radio, Sirius Satellite Radio and Atlantis Rising.
__._,_.___


Thursday, July 26, 2012

'Chasing UFOs' Stars Blast Their Own Show [EXCLUSIVE]

Lee Speigel for the Huffington Post on the criticism backlash concerning Chasing UFOs:'Chasing UFOs' Stars Blast Their Own Show [EXCLUSIVE]

Many have criticized the program, including UFO researchers. Speigel pulls quotes from mainstream outlets like The Wall Street Journal (!) and L.A. Times, and, of all people, uber-skeptoid and, oddly enough, highly misogynistic (but that's another story) Robert Sheaffer.

I don't expect the producers of the show to get it, and the inclusion of their quotes are to be expected in this context. Mainstream media doesn't get it, and Speigel caters to them because they're big time. But quoting a debunker like Sheaffer?

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Tim Beckley: The Authentic Book of Ultra-Terrestrial Contacts



I was happy to see that the mail delivered Tim Beckley's newest: The Authentic Book of Ultra-Terrestrial Contacts. I'm always happy to receive anything from Tim Beckley, aka "Mr. UFO" and this latest publication continues to delight. For us saucerheads and Forteans, the book enormously satisfies!

Authentic Book of Ultra-Terrestrail Contacts is a diverse collection of stories of alien contact, much not previously published. Included in the book are stories of telepathic contact, "silvery midgets," space brothers, contactees, Fidel Castro's viewing of a captured flying saucer and its alien corpse, the Mitchell sisters (Betty and Helen, who wrote of their contacts with space beings in We Met the Space People), David Bowie, Jimi Hendrix, nine foot Martians, William Shatner,  and Beckley's own UFO experience. The book includes a chapter by Francine Steiger: "Star Maiden" ...How to Contact Space Beings. (While that last may seem like space brother-sister new age silliness, as I was reading the chapter I simply had to acknowledge the similarities with my own experiences along those lines. Invisible realms indeed, where some alien presences live, and sometimes, us and "them" connect. )

While it's fun, and chock full of saucerhead goodness as well as humor (you might be surprised at Shatner's participation) Beckley is also serious about the fact of UFOs and strange beings.

I particularly appreciated Beckley's theories on the Djinn. And was startled by the chapter Silvery Midgets, which is similar in some ways to an experience I had when I was a child. I was even more startled, as I continued reading, that the sighting was not of alien silver suited midgets, but a hoax. Or, was it?

In Authentic Book of Ultra-Terrestrial Contacts, Beckley looks at hoaxes, jokers, demonic, negative entities or aliens, and peaceful, benevolent aliens. It's all there, and all those angles exist within UFO land, as we know. In this book we get witness narratives, Beckley's personal experiences and views, and the input of flying saucer researchers such as Brad Steiger and John A. Keel.

What I've always admired about Tim Beckley is his unabashed presentations of UFO tales by the witnesses themselves. There's no embarrassment, no apologies, simply the offering of the tales for us to consider. There's humor and fun while at the same time the very serious, very real fact: humans have been encountering UFOs and their occupants for a very long time. Thanks to Beckley, their stories are told.
 





Thursday, June 28, 2012

New UFO show: 'Chasing UFOs' on Nat Geo

I'm already put off but that's being bigoted since I haven't seen the show. I'm put off because of the usual glitz and crap. Resident skeptic, yep. Oy. Sexy young woman going by her last name -- "Ryder" -- chasing those UFOs. History of "Nat Geo" (name changed from what no doubt was perceived as stodgy stale National Geographic; have to have things brighter faster and spiiffier) being generally skeptical in these areas. The positive thing about this is that James Fox is one of the "chasers" so that has me feeling better. We'll see. <a href="http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/channel/chasing-ufos/meet-the-chasers/#/james_53670_600x450.jpg">Meet the Chasers Pictures - Chasing UFOs - National Geographic Channel</a>

Gobekli and Baltic Sea Mysteries on C2C

Gobekli and Baltic Sea Mysteries tonight with Linda Moultan Howe on C2C

Saturday, March 17, 2012

Ancient Aliens: Puma Punku

Last night's episode of Ancient Aliens revisited Puma Punku in Bolivia. Of all the ancient and mysterious sites on this planet that strongly suggest an alien influence, Puma Punku is the most startling and dramatic to support extraterrestrial life on earth.

Fascinating images, buildings and locations the world over, but all, regardless of the variety of those things, still feel "human." Even with an ET influence on whatever levels, there is a familiarity, no matter how distant. But Puma Punku; the artifacts there seem truly "other" to me. If anything shouts "aliens were here dummy" Puma Punku shouts the loudest.

Go here for slide show of images at Puma Punku:Ancient Aliens — History.com Photo Galleries

Monday, March 5, 2012

Is PayPal Censoring Writers?

Self-publishers accuse PayPal of censorship - News - Gadgets & Tech - The Independent
The opening bedroom scene of Andrea Juillerat-Olvera's new, erotic science-fiction novel Demon's Grace is a classic of its kind. "He is on his knees," it begins, "worshiping the cavernous female torso."

Sadly, for admirers of Juillerat-Olvera, it's about to get harder to enjoy her fruity pose. In what victims are calling the most far-reaching act of censorship of the internet era, Demon's Grace and thousands of books like it have just been effectively banned. To blame is the online payment company PayPal, which has a virtual monopoly over the business of allowing cash transfers to be made via the internet.

The US firm has come to dominate online self-publishing, a rapidly expanding industry which allows authors sell ebooks directly to readers. Last week, without warning, PayPal wrote to every major self-publishing website, announcing that henceforth it will refuse to process payments for clients that sell books which contain certain types of what it regards as "obscene" content.

Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Chris Carter on Coast to Coast Tonight

Chris Carter is an Oxford graduate, pretty cool. Did not know that. He's the guest during the second half of C2C tonight, where he'll talk about haunted castles, and "parapsychology's struggle for legitimacy":<a href="http://www.coasttocoastam.com/">Home - Coast to Coast AM</a>

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Binnall of America Season Six: Brad Steiger, Whitley Streiber

Do not miss this! binnall of america : audio
The long and winding road that has been BoA:Audio, Season Six reaches its destination as the incomparable Brad Steiger returns to the program for our Season Finale. Over the course of this remarkable conversation we'll discuss WWII table tipping, how the Internet has changed the paranormal, 2012 and apocolyptic thinking, ancient civilizations, the Hollow Earth, and parallel species living on Earth (i.e. elementals), the UFO phenomenon and Ufology, Long John Nebel, Aleister Crowley, paranormal research in the 1960's, and the state of the world as we roll through 2012.

It's a truly is an episode for the ages as Brad Steiger makes his long awaited return to BoA:Audio and helps us close out Season Six in style.

Monday, February 20, 2012

Saturday, January 21, 2012

Richard's Room 101

Richard Thomas interviews Mack Maloney, author of Ufos in wartime, an excellent book! I owe him a review ... in the meantime,take a look see:Richard's Room 101